Professor Andrew Fabian OBE FRS is a Professor in the Institute of Astronomy at the University of Cambridge, where he leads the Insitute’s X-Ray research group. The group’s research focuses on active galaxies, clusters of galaxies, elliptical galaxies, galactic black holes, neutron stars and the X-ray background. He is one of two UK members on ESA’s Athena Science Study Team and Chair of the Science Advisory Committee for the Japanese mission ASTRO-H. He has previously held the role of Director of the Institute of Astronomy. Before becoming its Director, Professor Fabian was a Royal Society Research Professor in the Institute of Astronomy. Between 2008 and 2013 he was President of the Royal Astronomical Society, and from 1997 to 2012 he was Vice-Master of Darwin College, Cambridge. He was made a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1996, he was awarded the American Astronomical Society’s Bruno Rossi Prize in 2001, and he was appointed an OBE in 2006. In conversation with Emmy Award-winning journalist Frank Sesno, the Director of Strategic Initiatives at George Washington University’s School of Media and Public Affairs. The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (United States), and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. This event is co-hosted by the Carnegie Institution for Science with The Kavli Foundation, the Royal Embassy of Norway, and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.